Suzuki GSX-R Motorcycle Forums Gixxer.com banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
257 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
How much will it cost me and is it worth it?

I know I'm a stupid newbie here.

·
Registered
4,747 Posts
for a daily driven bike it is not worth it. the chain will wear faster and as for price..chain, sprocket front and rear your looking approx 300.00 whats the advantage..its a tad lighter

·
Registered
2,240 Posts
Originally posted by Pimpin My Gixxer:
for a daily driven bike it is not worth it. the chain will wear faster and as for price..chain, sprocket front and rear your looking approx 300.00 whats the advantage..its a tad lighter
<font size="2" face="Verdana, Arial">300?? nah.. you can get the hole combo off kneedragger for about 140 with vortek sprokets, did erv II chain. I have it on mine...like pimp said , you dont really need the 520 for street riding..525 is good enough and you'll get alittlte more life..it does make a differnce though, nothing ground breaking , i only went up too in hte rear...I fell the revs alot more on the highway..my bike screams doin 85...
its a good semi cheap mod, go for it.

[ 08-03-2002, 07:32 PM: Message edited by: psycho750R ]

·
Registered
645 Posts
Well, the 520 doesn't necessarily wear that much faster really. It will, but not by much. As for pricing, it's easy. First of all most companies will make sprockets and chains for 530 to 525 to 520. For SRADs, they make all three. You just buy a Chain for 100 to 160, and rear from 30 to 45 bucks and the front for like 21 bucks.

so you add that up and you're under 200 bones.

Definitely go for the high grade chain for stretching purposes. Don't do aluminum sprockets if you want them to last longer on the street. Always lube the chain and keep it clean! This is a must. There is no noticeable difference either in going from 530 to 520. Some racers go for every ounce of weight savings and do this. No biggee though.