Suzuki GSX-R Motorcycle Forums Gixxer.com banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
165 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
The guys at the dealership told me high octane, well I read on one post that regular unleaded goes in the tank. Now my tank is getting low and I don't want to put the wrong fuel in it. What should I use? Sorry for the newb question, I'm new to this motorcycle thing.

·
Registered
252 Posts
Use 87. All higher octane means is that the fuel has a higher resistance to detonation. In other words it is in a sense, harder to combust. Running higher octane in an engine that runs fine on lower octane (such as one designed for it, like yours) will give only one performance benefit - you may experience improved handling and acceleration due to lightness of the wallet.

There are countless ignorant people out there that run the highest octane in all their vehicles because they think more expensive is better, but they're just that - ignorant.

·
Registered
5 Posts
actually the higher octane gases have less additives in them even on cars 83 octane gas is bad for it not because of how it runs but it causes greater carbon build up in the head and exhaust manifold also shortens the life of your catylitic converter. just a lil info for yall. i work on cars for a living so i kinda know a lil bit about it. now if you run 83 octane and lucas F.I. Cleaner with the gas then it would be okay but when you do that you are spending just as much as you would paying for the high octane gas. just when you buy high octane gas you save yourself a little bit of trouble now if you run high octane you can still use lucas F.I. cleaner and if it isn't a new bike or car and has over im going to say 15,000 miles on it then it will help in performance and gas mileage.

·
Registered
100 Posts