Suzuki GSX-R Motorcycle Forums Gixxer.com banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
106 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey Gents I have a 86 1100-G punched (1220cc) heads portted and polished. I did not do any of this work my self the previous owner did. however my problem is when I give my bike a run 70 mph or more I feel vibration around from the tranny. It seems to stay even when I slow down. Is this normal? It has done this since I got it but Today it is real noticable. It's nowhere near close to being due for a oil change. The oil is between the F and L on the lil window. Any help will be appreciated.

·
Registered
106 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
How would I go about checking this. I know I'm a real rookie but I'm willing to learn and try. what do I look for? thanx in adavance.

·
Registered
17,099 Posts
sorry, i missed this thread for a few days.

on the right side of the motor, the engine cover that has the oil sight window on it is the clutch cover. undo all the allen bolts, and the cover will come off and you will see the clutch. you'd need to actually undo the four or five bolts in the middle of the clutch and remove the clutch fibers and plates so that you can thoroughly inspect the outer clutch basket and inner hub.

you'd be looking for damage, like a broken hub 'finger', which would throw the balance off. the outer clutch hub is geared directly to the crankshaft....so if it were out of balance, you'd feel it as a vibration.

what's your email address? i can send you a picture of what the clutch looks like and how to go about disassembling it, but the picture will be for a 2000 750.....not exactly the same as your bike, but the pictures will be close enough.

i'd advise purchasing a shop manual for your bike, it will walk you through everything step by step.

you can order one at your suzuki dealer or from http://www.repairmanual.net

·
Registered
106 Posts
Discussion Starter #7