Suzuki GSX-R Motorcycle Forums Gixxer.com banner
1 - 20 of 37 Posts

·
Premium Member
107 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
In fact they make it worse. I was thinking about the effect of the kits on oil pressure and started studying the engine lubrication diagrams from the manual. The more I studied it the more it seemed like the top end oil kits would drop the pressure at the cam shafts.
So... I decided to measure the pressures. The pressure at the rocker arm shafts (the 17mm nut on the cylinder head) was higher then the pressure at the socket head on the head cover. Obviously connecting these two with a hose will only lower the pressure at the rocker arm shafts (and thus lower the pressure at the cam shaft bearings). Also, if you study engine diagram in the manual,the intake and exhaust cams are both feed equal. The head cover socket bolt leads to low pressure, high volume oil passages that are meant to cool the cylinder head by flooding it with oil, it is not a high pressure oil passage that is meant to pressurize bearings.
There is a another reason to not use the oil kit even if it did work. The oil flowing to the head cover is not filtered by the oil filter, it comes straight from the oil pan (although it does pass through a coarse metal screen), so it could potentialy have small metal shavings which you don't want flowing through your cam shaft bearings.

Motor vehicle Tire Automotive tire Auto part Vehicle

·
Registered
281 Posts
Thanks for confirming what I thought all along. There was a reason the race bikes of the time didn't use cam oiling kits. Just curious, what were the pressures exactly?

·
Premium Member
107 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Just curious, what were the pressures exactly?