Suzuki GSX-R Motorcycle Forums Gixxer.com banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
67 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am a noob, but I like to practice on Highway 9 around Los Gatos/Saratoga.

Going uphill, I feel way more confident than going downhill, even in a car. Feels like its much more stable.

This is what I do. Please give me tips or pointers if I am wrong or what would help me.

Going Uphill... I brake before turns obviously, but I'm in like 3rd or 4th gear most of the time going 25-45 MPH. Uphill seems so easy compared to downhill.

I guess my question is mostly on downhill. Of course you have to brake much more but what I try to do is keep it in low gear for engine braking and I tend to go much slower downhill than uphill (or feels like it). (Going downhill on Highway 9 the roads are more crappy in that lane)

I guess the best advice you guys would tell me is to go slow anyways. I don't know what range these answers will range from. But just spit out whatever. Thanks

G

·
It sounds like you may not be comfortable with the jerkiness of the throttle, among other things.

When going uphill, you're using gravity to complement your brakes in order to slow the bike down. So - you're not depending on engine braking. Right? You feel comfy just using those two forces to slow the bike down.

When going downhill, gravity is working against you. But you're using engine braking because you want/need another way to slow the bike. Right? So you find yourself going slower, being more hesitant, because A) you're having to use more braking force than going uphill, and B) because you're higher in the revs in a lower gear, you know that any little twist of the wrist could get the bike all squirly on you.