Suzuki GSX-R Motorcycle Forums Gixxer.com banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
56 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys! I thought of posting this "How to" adjust the Throttle Position Sensor (TPS), because I have looked at quite a few threads to get all the info on how to do this. So I decided to put it all together.

I'm using my 06 GSXr 600. I've never done it before and I read some articles on the 'Herky Jerky'. I recently started having this problem at around 59k miles on it. Instead of taking it to the dealer, I took it upon myself to do it instead of paying $60-$100 for the service.

Here is a step-by-step of how I did it:

I started taking off the simple screws (red spikes)

After that, I took off the push pins on the inside of the right fairing so I could remove the inside fairing panel.

Then took off my frame slider and lower fairing.

Now that I have my right fairing out of the way, I'll be one step closer to being done.

When I saw a push pin with strap that's holding the cable, I grabbed a flat head screwdriver and pried it out of it's socket.

Now I pulled down the cable a little bit and can see the TPS.

I then removed my seat to locate the Dealer Mode wires.

I used a simple wire I had laying around in the garage and bridged the 2 wires. The wires you will need to bridge is a White wire with a red stripe and a black wire with a white stripe. Not sure what the other wires do exactly, so I'm not going to find out.