Suzuki GSX-R Motorcycle Forums Gixxer.com banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hey all,

Brand new to the site and to the sport bike scene. I have been riding my whole life pretty much. Now I ride an RMZ250F and an 01 Road King Classic. I have been looking to break into the sport bike scene or a little while now and decided to take on a rebuild so that I wouldn't have to break the bank to do so. I found a 97 gsxr600 SRAD at an impound lot for 350, got it for 200. I figured it has new basically tires on it and mechanically the important stuff seemed to be in pretty decent shape. The front fork has some pretty decent damage and the plastics on the side it went down are not too pretty but buying some used parts and making some if I have to I plan to get it back on the road and clean it up pretty nice. I plan to post my progress along the way in a rebuild/project thread.

A little more about me I suppose, I am a mechanical engineer, and have a small machine/fab/job shop that I am building. Currently a Bridgeport J-Head, cadillac lathe, bandsaw, couple grinders, belt sanders, propane forge, tig welder, oxy/Ace torch, and a couple other odds and ends along with some inspection equipment. Making stuff and more importantly having the capability to fix or make most things is a passion of mine, I like working with my hands and making the right chips in metal to craft a part out of the raw stock.

I look forward to getting the bike on the road and keeping a progress log of how the rebuild goes and all the inevitable problems I am bound to run into!
Cheers,
-Joe

·
17,009 Posts
Hey all,