Suzuki GSX-R Motorcycle Forums Gixxer.com banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
294 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I recently purchased a 1988 GSXR 750 frame
, unfortunately it has no swing-arm or front forks. What years will be compatible with this frame for forks and swing arm? Also I plan on making this bad-boy a 7-11 - what problems am I going to run into w/ the 1100 motor in the 750 chasis? Any help greatly appreciated as this is my first project bike.

[ 06-28-2001: Message edited by: http://www.gixxer.com/ubb/avatars/marvel1.gif ]

·
Registered
2,491 Posts
okay, 88-92 swingarms absolutely no trouble, 93-85 some bushings might need to be made and you will have to play with the linkages, the inverted forks from 92-95 are a no problem fit, SRAD forks can be used if the steering haed is altered, as far as the engine goes, for that frame it was the year of the 1085cc? oil cooler, good motor, the 1127cc oiler 91-92 real good motor 89-90 were 1127's too, different head, and valve shim system(I think), the motors should slap in with little trouble.
good luck
Karl
ps. the 1127 motors are getting pricey and hard to come buy in stock format.

·
Banned
3,509 Posts
What KJ1 said is correct. All the USD front ends prior to 96 just pop right in. As for wheels if you go with 96 or newer you'll need to work out a new speedometer as there is no cable drive on them. It runs off the motor on 96 on. The rear ends mostly bolt in fine, mine did but its a 86 frame. I'm still working on getting a motor though. I might opt for a newer Bandit 1200 mill, which would allow for a '96 front wheel. I'm lucky at the moment in that I've got a set of '94 and a set of '96 wheels. The up-side to running older 17" wheels is the axles are the same. Post '96 wheels have much larger axles, unless you switch the bearing sizes

Good luck...

·
Registered
2,491 Posts
The triple tree is going to depend on the forks that you use...
Karl

·
Registered
139 Posts