Suzuki GSX-R Motorcycle Forums Gixxer.com banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm kind of new to racing but I've been riding for a while and have done a decent amount of trackdays and schools. I rode an RC51 for the last year on the street and some track days. I sold that and bought an 03 R6 racebike with stock suspension about three months go. The R6 feels so light and easy to ride. I keep getting faster every time I ride it. Last time I went to jennings it was the first time I reached a plateu in my riding. I finally reached a point where I was stuck on the same second. I was running low 126's all day. I mananaged to drop down to 25's towards the end of the day but I definitly was working for it. My question as a new racer is when are you sure that you are ready for aftermarkert suspension. I know it's better to have but I almost have to choose between that or being able to afford to race and buy new tires. I really don't know weather to keep my stock suspension and race and get good tires or sit out a couple of races save my money and get some good suspension. I finished top 5 in every race I entered last time and I beat alot of guys with the best suspension money can buy. I want to be safe out there and I would rather spend the money on a rear shock than my medical bills. I still feel sometimes that the bike is more capable than I am and that if you are a talented smooth rider that is better than any money can buy. Could you guys please give me some advise. If I do decide on the suspension, where is the best place to buy a penske shock. I heard you can get them really cheap from LP priveteer program. Any suggestions would be appreciated. Thanks, Mark

·
Highly unstable
32,025 Posts