Suzuki GSX-R Motorcycle Forums Gixxer.com banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
701 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Okay, so I have an option here. I'm a broke-ass college student. Know that from the start.

I know this guy with a '98 750 w/a '99 750 motor in it. He says the FI is running rich in one spot. He'd sell the bike for $2500 as-is, or $3500 fixed. I'm thinking fix it first.

I'm sure I could e-bay my bike for more than that amount, in order to buy this bike.

Provided all gets fixed with the FI bike, does this sound like a better bike? Mine has high mileage (reads 20,000+ due to small front sprocket).

What's the advantages to a FI bike? Is this '98 bike a lighter bike? Would a '99 motor have more HP than mine, as a general rule? Could I switch my exhaust system with the factory one on the bike?

Just feeling around. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

·
Registered
5,107 Posts
Well, the only real difference with that bike as compared to your current one is the FI. I believed they lightened up some engine components and a few other minor changes, but the major one was the addition of fuel injection.
FI advantages include better fuel economy (supposedly) and easier tuning. Rather than having to jet the bike, you just get a powercommander and then you can hook it up to a computer to change your fuel mapping.
Your pipe should fit it.
The only problem I see is that $2500 sounds really cheap. I would make sure that there is nothing wrong with the bike, or that he clearly states why he is selling it so cheap. Why did he change motors? Has it been crashed? How many miles does the new motor have on it? Why is it running rich if it's got the stock pipe on it?
Good Luck!

·
Registered
2,358 Posts
Originally posted by N4cer:
I'll have the details later. All I know is that he fried the cams on the old motor by riding a wheelie. I've never seen him ride, but I hear he's a wheelie king around here.

More details later...