Suzuki GSX-R Motorcycle Forums Gixxer.com banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This is my first time removing a motorcycle engine. I've watched all the YouTube vids I can and minus a coolant hose or two, I think it's ready to drop, but I want some more experienced eyes to take a look real quick before I go through with it since I am doing some things a bit differently.

1. I am leaving the oil cooler attached. I know it sounds a little silly but this engine has a fresh batch of Motul300v in it...I really don't want to waste it

2. I am using the frame sliders to support the front end. I'll have to remove this bolt obviously. I am guessing it's best to just suspend the entire front end with ratchet straps through the frame and a ladder?

3. Is there anything else I need to remove or is this good to go?

Forgive me if these questions are silly, but as you can see from the bearing race that is installed backwards in the steering stem (and my butchered attempts to dremel it out), I am not too inclined when it comes to this stuff :suicide

Attachments

·
Super Moderator
14,992 Posts
You should be good to go as long as all of your hoses and wires are all free and disconnected. You'll definitely need to find a way to hold that frame up though since those frame slider bolts/motor mounts have to obviously come out. It's a pretty simple process to drop the engine. Just take your time. Putting it all back together poses a few more challenges for a first timer. Hopefully you took pictures while disconnecting everything and/or at least have a service manual to help you with reassembly.

·
IM THE BRONZE
1,336 Posts
Since your bike is totally stripped, you might be better off making a square out of 2x4's and setting the engine on the square. Remove bolts and lift the frame off the engine. Just a thought.

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter #4