Suzuki GSX-R Motorcycle Forums Gixxer.com banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
6,418 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
anyone know how to remove the washer/shims from the fron brake rotors to give them a more floating effect? This was done on the 1991 gsxr i used to own but i didnt do them. Id like to do it to my 92 anyone have any advise?

·
YAAFM Mod
3,016 Posts
I have never heard of doing this to factory rotors. EBC and other aftermarket rotors come apart and you need to put new buttons in every so often.

You don't need to take them apart to polish the carriers.
Bones

·
Registered
2 Posts
Newbie here.... I'm looking to replace the original 1992 GSXR750 rotor buttons with full floating buttons. Seems I need the button diameter and rotor thickness to order new floating buttons.

I think the rotor is 5mm.......but since I don't have my brakes here I need someone to let me know what diameter floating button I need to order.

Anybody know where I can buy a button kit for both front rotors ?

Thanks...... Mike in Bethesda, Md.

·
Retired Test Pilot.
282 Posts
Split the spring washer with a small cold chisel and take it off, it is the same idea as the aftermarket rotors but ALOT more noise since the buttons on OEM rotors are larger than aftermarket ones.
A few racers I knew in Daytona used to do it to their bikes and it did work quiet well at keeping the rotors from warping under hard braking but it was something to keep an eye on. (extra movement = extra wear)
Cool idea if you didn't have the extra jing to drop on aftermarkets but better to just bite the bullet and buy them in the long run for peace of mind.

Bill

·
Bearded Viking Admin...
131,133 Posts
Split the spring washer wirh a small cold chisel and take it off, it is the same idea as the aftermarket rotors but ALOT more noise since the buttons on OEM rotors are larger than aftermarket ones.