Suzuki GSX-R Motorcycle Forums Gixxer.com banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
555 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I will be moving to San Diego next month. I'm new to that area and have some questions. Thanks in advance for any helpful advice or links.

1. My bike is a non California(US) model. Will I run into trouble with registering/ inspection/ emissions etc.? My bike only has a Micron slip-on.

2. Lane splitting. How does the law work for that? Do the cagers give you any trouble because of it. Looks too risky.

3. Parking. I often park on a safe curb or sidewalk where there is minimal foot traffic. Will this anger merchants and/or the police in SD?

4. Where can I meet and ride with non-squids? PM me.

·
He Who Touches Himself
6,620 Posts
Wassup man!

I'm from Louisiana too and I just left my bike registered in LA. From what I've seen, it would have been a hassle to get it changed to CA. As for the lane splitting, I've heard different thing from different people. As long as you don't look like you're doing something crazy the cops I've seen won't mess with you. Parking is something else, all depends on where you go.

Hope this helps! what part of LA you from? I'm from Alexandria and I'm stationed at Ft. Irwin but I live in Barstow.

holla!

·
Registered
1,512 Posts
Well I dont have any real information as far as registering your bike here, but I will give you my insight as far as the other topics.

I've never had any trouble for splitting lanes. Infact i've split right past a CHP officer and have followed CHP officers on their bikes as they split. The rule of thumb is to not exceed 15 mph over the flow of traffic. So basically if everyone's doing 10 mph.. you can't be going over 25 mph as you split traffic.

I do know of people who have been pulled of it, but they're never honest as to just why they have been pulled. It is legal though, according to the DMV