Suzuki GSX-R Motorcycle Forums Gixxer.com banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
ok im new to riding and im pretty sure i want to start out on a gsxr600 to get the feel for everything. do u recommend any years or what. i was thinking like 2001 somewhere around there with the fuel injection but let me know what you think. thanks a lot

·
Registered
2,010 Posts
welcome to GDC club

as to answering your question. Please take your time and read all the sticky on this forum. Also, i would not suggest you start off on any R bike. Like it or leave it, it is for your own good.

·
Bearded Viking Admin...
125,522 Posts
sounds like you're looking in the right spot... early 2K 600s are a good choice for a first bike. Safe riding.
+1 - while you *might* be ok with the engine power, the two big brake rotors with the 4-piston calipers will most likely put you on your ass first time you get into a situation where you have to brake harder than expected (car pulling out, gravel, animals on the road, etc.). Even worse so the rear brake because most of the bike's mass is transferred to the front when braking hard. GSX-R and other street legal race bikes have WAY to much braking power for learning riding...

Apart from that, bikes with full fairings are very expensive to bring back to mint condition if you drop them, even at low speed. One side ONLY is 1000$+ in plastics alone...

I second the GS500 or SV650

·
Registered
6,380 Posts
Nice post SVS!!!!! I agree......

·
Registered
826 Posts