Suzuki GSX-R Motorcycle Forums Gixxer.com banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
83 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Can anyone tell me how to know when my "power ones"(street version) are too worn to use.
I am new to road racing(from mx background) and am worried I cant "feel" when they wanna let go.I am reasonably slow-ish, about 10 seconds off the pace of our top national riders(sponsored guys etc)
I read somewhere that you can ride these tyres till the "chords show" does that mean seeing the canvas??!!....
I have just worn past the far outer small rain sipes...txs for any help

·
Premium Member
73,190 Posts
Only you can make that call, but the general consensus is when you have lost confidence in them, it is time to replace them.

Tires are cheap insurance, and cost a lot less than a crash.

Post up some pics of said tires.

·
Premium Member
73,190 Posts
That tire has tons of life left in it!!!

·
Registered
83 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
TXS Anthony!! good to know...as I am new to road racing not so sure what you feel when it starts "getting tired".

·
Premium Member
73,190 Posts
You will feel it start to slide when you are coming out of a turn, and the front will push a little when entering a turn.

·
Premium Member
24,541 Posts
Its a shame they stopped making the Power One,such an awesome tire. :sad

·
Premium Member
1,974 Posts
The Cups are just as good if not better

·
Premium Member
117,182 Posts
That tire has less than Anthony May have let on IMO. A day or so tops. It's "fast" is already gone but yes if you are smooth they will work reasonably well till the cords show

·
Premium Member
117,182 Posts
Its a shame they stopped making the Power One,such an awesome tire. :sad

But it wasn't though lol

All personal preference but they are my least favorite of all the tires I've ran, and I've ran all four brands in recent years

·
Premium Member
24,541 Posts
But it was ;)