Suzuki GSX-R Motorcycle Forums Gixxer.com banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So, if you've followed any of my other threads. I'm new to the bike scene and just recently got a 600 1 month ago. As I go through the trials and tribulations of experts and professionals ripping me and everyone and their mothers telling me their experience. I figure, I would share my bit of mishap with my hand dandy Power Commander III.

I got the bike and the first thing I did was immediate maintenance. Being so new, not really sure what that really entailed? One thing was for sure, I decided to hookup my laptop to the onboard PWIII and see if the previous owner new what he was doing. Not that I knew any better.

Here's what I did, my mistake and how I got around it. Of course it happens on a Saturday morning.

I connected my laptop to the power commander module (bike on) and proceeded to check the loaded mappings. I noticed that the firmware for the PCIII was outdated. Well, like any other computer nerd, let's get an updated version. As I did this from the website, while still connected to the bike, the PCIII shutdown as well as the bike.

Crap, what just happened? Bike won't start and PCIII, which draws its' power from the bike battery won't come on either. So, no bike and no communication to the PCIII. Nice move...

Problem
Don't upload firmware while bike is on, as the bike needs to know how to map the fuel. This info comes from the PCIII module. So a firmware update will reboot the internal CPU and and leave your bike ECU with no signal and no fuel.

Remedy
Reestablish connection to the PCIII to finish the firmware update. First you need to establish power to the unit.

Dynojet, makers of the PCIII, provides a battery adapter that plugs into the white header. It retails for $14.99 + SH. You can purchase online or visit any bike store that sells the battery adapter.