Suzuki GSX-R Motorcycle Forums Gixxer.com banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
148 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a 1997 GSXR 600 with a 1998 750 motor in it. I have alot of questions for I am not a mechanic.

First off, my light in the gauges does not work. Is there any way to replace just the light, if so is it hard? If not then I take it that I must get a whole new gauge cluster?

Does it make a BIG difference if you run without the ram air tubes in, if so what difference does it make and which is better - in or out? Also does anyone know where to get the rubber pieces for the ram air tube all I have is the plastic tube parts but no rubber grommet/gasket things?

I have a Yoshi RS3 carbon fiber exhaust and it has a hole/crack on the inner part that faces the rear tire. Is there any way to fix/ patch this without having to replace the WHOLE can. i have heard someone mention using fiberglass to patch it. What do you guys think?

How do you remove and replace the wind screen rubber grommets without destroying them?

These are all the questions for now, hopes somebody can help.
Thanks

·
Registered
21 Posts
Those windscreen grommets suck!!! I've gone to take the screen off then thought, NAH, cant be bothered too much hassle.

As for ram air, you need it or the top end of you engine performance will not be very good. Without it, it will go flat at high revs and not be as fast as it should be

·
Registered
645 Posts
Well the gauge cluster just has light bulbs in it. Unless you had a 2001 model, then you'd have to send it off to be fixed as they're different entirely. So you can find replacement bulbs and just unscrew the back of the cluster and go in and insert new ones.