Suzuki GSX-R Motorcycle Forums Gixxer.com banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
151 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am buying a new paint gun. I have a compressor. I was looking for some type of tutorial on how to paint fairings or anything. What gid sand paper do I use to remove the paint? What grid is used before adding primer? Do I sand the primer? any tips on useing the gun? Etc...etc...? Is there a difference when painting plastic(fairings) or metal (car hood).
Help. I have some idea's but I want to know how to do it perfect. Practice makes perfect. Im willing to learn. Thanks guys.!!!

·
Registered
151 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
If not a tutorial paybe some tips. Like how to use the pant un etc...? layers? etc?

·
Registered
23 Posts
hey guys, ive been painting proffesionaly for 10 years and while i cant give you anywhere near that training in a forum reply here are a couple of guide lines.
primer must not be used on any surface prepared with a grit less than 240...otherwise it will flake off.it needs a coarse suface to adhere to.any areas that are through to plastic(if working on fairings)will need a plastic primer dusted on before the build primer.
spray a light coat of color(black for instance)over the primed areas before you flat it.this will act as a guide as you flat and show up defects.use a sanding block that is flat and true as any areas that are low will still have guide paint on them.use a grade of paper around the 800 or 1000 grit preferably wet.
dry the panels throughly and degrease them well.a specific panel wipe is best but you can make do with white spirits.