Suzuki GSX-R Motorcycle Forums Gixxer.com banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
288 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Jeff has already seen the start of this post in the "general" area. Anyways, I have oil leaking from the center bolt on my cam chain tensioner on my 86 Gixxer 750. Jeff mentioned I could easily remove that bolt and replace the o-ring on it without worrying about the tension coming off my cam chain. I've never done this before and so read the section in my Haynes manual thoroughly. Here's where my additonal questions for Jeff or anyone else who would like to help come in:

I guess the part that worries me is where it says in my manual "Once you start to remove the tensioner bolts you must remove the tensioner all the way and reset it before tightening the bolts. The tensioner extends and locks in place, so if you loosen the bolts partway and retighten them, the tensioner or cam chain will be damaged."

The manual only shows the removal procedure for the whole tensioner assembly- not just the center bolt. I guess I'd feel better if I knew exactly how the whole thing worked as I had thought that center bolt was the one that adjusted the tension on the cam chain. Could you guys give me a brief lesson on how this device works?

------------------

Youth and talent are no match for age and treachery!

·
Registered
17,099 Posts
the part when they say 'when you start to remove the tensioner bolts you must remove the tensioner all the way and reset it', they're referring to the two tensioner bolts that are holding the tensioner body in place against the cylinder, and not the large central bolt.