Suzuki GSX-R Motorcycle Forums Gixxer.com banner

1 - 20 of 43 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I recently got this second (actually 3rd) hand 2003 R1000 with a tad over 10000 miles on it. Beautiful machine, I love it.

It has synthetic oil in it.

I have never used syn oil before so I am a bit in the dark with a few questions.

1) Mechanics at the Suzuki dealer say that if I switch the oil to the conventional type this will create problems with the clutch to 'slip' (not sure what they mean by that).

2) With conventional oil, I used to drain and refill when came winter storage time, then do this again at spring time but that time I would replace the filter as well. If I stick with syn, do I do the same or can I change the oil+filter at storage time OR when I take it out of storage. Obviously I would hate trashing a full load of syn that has not been used except for 'being there'.

3) If I stick with syn, I will probably use Mobil 1 10W30 meant for car engines. I would prefer 10W40, but it does not seem to make in this category and I can't find the MX4T category around here (and honestly I do not beleive in the added value of a 'motorcycle oil'). I don't live in Texas, average temperatures are below 30C, with a few exceptions, times when I avoid riding as I find my gear and helmet unbearable.

Pennies for your thoughts.

·
Constantly in trouble now
16,403 Posts
Send your pennies via paypal, please. :D

I recently got this second (actually 3rd) hand 2003 R1000 with a tad over 10000 miles on it. Beautiful machine, I love it.
Congrats! :D

It has synthetic oil in it.

I have never used syn oil before so I am a bit in the dark with a few questions.

1) Mechanics at the Suzuki dealer say that if I switch the oil to the conventional type this will create problems with the clutch to 'slip' (not sure what they mean by that).