Suzuki GSX-R Motorcycle Forums Gixxer.com banner
1 - 20 of 110 Posts

·
Registered
240 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hey yall. i did my first track run monday at cresson, it was awesome, and i'm totally addicted. i'm a newb rider on a K6 gsxr 1k, but did very well on throttle control.
my gixxer 1k has full leo vince, pcIII, bmc race filter, velocity stacks, gilles rear sets, vortex front rear 520, puig db, and only 2k miles. i'm wanting to get penske rear shock, traxxion on the forks, ohlins steering damper. so basically, that bike is kinda my baby.
i'm not an idiot to think i won't crash on a track, so here's my question.. should i get left/right covers, race plastic, etc.. or just bite the bullet and keep that bike as my baby and buy a used 600 for track days? do yall have a designated "track bike" and then a dope ass street bike? thanks for any advice!!

·
Registered
5,050 Posts
If you have the funds...a dedicated track bike is the only way to go.

·
Registered
16,168 Posts
I agree wit those 2 ....Also, if you get a 600 there's no need to dump a ton O $$$ in to it, ride to the limits, then upgrade..i.e. them fancy smancy fork thingys..ect..:D IMHO, better to get the bike Dialed in..i.e. suspension, tires, brakes and such..

Oh, and welcome to da addiction...:cheers

·
Registered
4,268 Posts
Buy a race prepped 600. There are 3.2 million of them for sale and you can get one nicely set up for very little cash compared to the cost of building one. Plus a 600 is WAY easier to go fast on than a 1k.

·
Registered
34,392 Posts