Suzuki GSX-R Motorcycle Forums Gixxer.com banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, just joined the site and am currently looking for my 1st bike(read the stickies, MSF on Aug 3-5) had my heart set on SV650S but can't seem to find one in my price range ($0-$2500) however I have seen a couple of the older (94-95 mainly) RF600's around in that price range also really like the way they look. However I was wondering if you guys think it would decent 1st bike, since I apprently can'y afford an SV. I searched but the site didn't really have too much about them all I found on the internet was a couple old reviews and one saying it made 100hp w/about 80 to the rear wheel, which doesn't seem overly much considering what the GSX-R's make. Also if they are not to bad of a starting bike anyone know of any selling in the North Nj area in my price range?

BTW I have zero experience no dirt, no nothing...

·
Registered
4,880 Posts
not too sure about the RF. i'm sure someone could give you some info on that later on.

Try looking for Honda GT 650, they are kinda old but very similar to SV. Then you have the GS500.

The looks of the bike isn't important, just ride it and upgrade down the road. You will understand why it is best to get a beater than to get something new for a starter bike.

·
Registered
7,447 Posts
Welcome to the site! I bet you could find a used (but relatively new, just a couple years old) GS500 in your price range, that would be the best choice. A pre-2003 SV should be out there for that price too, just gotta keep lookin. Both excellent choices.

You got the right idea staying away from the R bikes as your first, and signing up for the MSF course was a smart move. Don't worry about not having any experience. That's what the MSF course is for! They'll hook you up and get you on your way, and you'll have a blast doing it!