Suzuki GSX-R Motorcycle Forums Gixxer.com banner

1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey!
I'm a complete squid, still learning to ride on my boyfriend's 750. Buying a 600 after the first of the year. I'm here to make friends, get advice and hopefully meet girls to ride with and learn from in my area (Tampa/Sarasota.) A lot of people have discouraged me from learning on/buying a 600 or 750. I've been riding 2 Up with my boyfriend for about 4 years now, but before that never rode dirt bikes or anything. So far I've done well learning on the 750. Did any of you girls learn on a 600 or larger and have some advice for me? Or wanna share stories of the haters you proved wrong?

·
Registered
9 Posts
Hey! Welcome to the site!

The 600 I have now was my first and current bike. Yes, I learned on it from the very beginning and most of the people who were haters were people who didn't know me, aka, people who helped me pick my bike back up when I dropped it a few times.

I do however highly recommend taking the MSF course. It helped me loads!

I've always told people that they have to truly know themselves in order to choose which bike they can handle and be cautious with. It took me a full 6 months before I was completely comfortable riding my bike, to know where the friction zone was, and to know how much throttle I needed to ease out of a stop. I did have my doubts about the engine size I chose but I stuck with it and have loved every minute of it.

After 5 years now, I'm looking at buying a 750 and keep the bike I currently have for nostalgia reasons, but I've got to pay off the car first (bought a bike before I even had my license lol).

My husband (fiance at the time) bought me a dirtbike as a wedding present and let me tell ya, riding a dirtbike can really hone your skills on the street! So I'd also suggest borrowing a dirtbike to try out on.

Hope that helps and we'll be seeing you out on the street! :burnout

·
Registered
40 Posts