Suzuki GSX-R Motorcycle Forums Gixxer.com banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
257 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hi guys
i think its about time to change my chain and just wanted to know what brand/type i should get.
also...can someone explain what a 520 conversion does?....im a newbie so would it be wise for me to do this?

thanks in advance

·
I <3 Item 9
13,426 Posts
a 520 conversion will simply give you a lighter chain, which makes less unsprung weight making your bike run easier, better, whatever. You'll never really notice unless you're on the track beating up your bike or something. You'd have to get new sprockets do do the conversion. Go for it if you have the $. I know I will, just for the hell of it:)

I got a DID gold chain... not the wors, and not the best... just a nice one...

·
Registered
6,907 Posts
The stock chain on your bike is sized 525.

A 520 chain is lighter and will provide less rotating mass, slightly improving acceleration.

A 520 chain conversion is very popular.

Popular brands for chains are the D.I.D. or Regina chains. There are others. I use D.I.D. O-ring.

By switching to a 520 chain, you will also need to replace your front and rear sprockets to suit the new size of the chain.

By changing sprockets, most people will also opt for changing the number of teeth each sprocket has (going DOWN 1 tooth in FRONT, or going UP 2 or 3 teeth in the REAR). The change in sprocket size will improve acceleration by making it easier for your engine to get up to higher revvs where the powerband is. It will not ADD power.

By changing sprocket sizes, you will sacrifice a few things in exchange for quicker acceleration:

1) You will lose some top-end speed ability (meaning, your maximum speed will DECREASE). Most don't care about this because how many times do you want to go 150mph? The amount of speed lost will depend on the sizes of your gears, typically 5 to 15 mph.