Suzuki GSX-R Motorcycle Forums Gixxer.com banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
288 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I originally posted this in the general forum but it's getting buried under all the other posts. Here is the post:

Hiya
I'm in the last stages of my odyssey to install 36 mm Mikuni CV's on my 86 750 Gixxer. I'm not a moron when it comes to mechanics but I have some gaps in my knowledge base so here is where my questions come in.

1.) I used new flanges from the 88 Gixxer to mount the carbs. The mounting flanges between the engine and the carbs are slightly off center leaving a 2 mm lip of metal showing on one side of the intake. The O-ring on the flange makes good contact all the way around though. My concern is will this cause some sort of turbulance to the incoming mixture to the combustion chamber?

2.) Now that my stock air box is gone and I have individual filters, the hose that came from the crank case breather and went to the air box has no where to go- is it safe to leave the hose unattached or should I connect some sort of inline filter to it?

3.) Lastly, and most importantly I cannot find where to attach the vacuum hose that comes from the gas tank and then went to my old 29 mm carbs. My fuel lines were different too- I ended up running new fuel line from each of the fuel line fittings into a Y connector, then running that hose into a inline fuel filter before it attaches to the tank. But my main problem is where do I attach the vacuum hose?

Once this is all done and the bike runs I'll be syncronizing the carbs with my new carbtune II tool. I already have a stage three dynojet kit installed but I'll be heading to the nearest dyno for more precise main jet adjustments soon.

Thanks in advance for your help and may I say even though I am new to this forum I have found everyone to be extremely friendly and helpful. Be safe and good riding.

------------------

Youth and talent are no match for age and treachery!

·
Registered
17,099 Posts