Suzuki GSX-R Motorcycle Forums Gixxer.com banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
183 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Basically Ive quit my hurtin-ass job and Ive been sitting in a fucken desk for 4 years. Ive gone from when i was 22, 6' 0 - 235lbs and now im 26 at 300lbs. I was very active in highschool and I was going on long hikes and riding my bike regularly before this job.

Now im done, I want to get in shape. What exercises would I start with and what diet plans? My friend started working out hard after years on his ass and he ended up getting serious knee probs. I would like to start running again....help fitness ppl!!!

·
Registered
60 Posts
Alright, with your weight, I would start out in a pool. It sounds weird, but find a local pool with a decent amount of water that comes to about chest level, and run in it, it takes a lot of energy, burns a shitload of calories and won't destroy your knees. As a pluss, it also helps flexability. Stretch before and after each session. One you start that, and get comfortable with it, start swiming laps, don't worry about a real defined workout, what is good for starters is to pick a time, say a half hour, and then start slow, fall into pace, and swimm for a half hour straight, only stopping for water, and then cooldown.

At the time you start swimming, you can also alternate days with running and lower body gym workouts, as most people neglect the lower body whle swimming. If you can't tell, I'm a lifeguard and aqua aerobics instructor, and thoroughl believe in water therapy, I have a diabetic guy I work with who dropped from 420 to 210 in about a year and a half doing this, with no diet changes.