Suzuki GSX-R Motorcycle Forums Gixxer.com banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
290 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My experience first. I have been riding on two wheels for roughly 20 years now, first on dirtbikes (kx80, kx125, atc250r, trx250r) in the mid-80's and then on road bikes (first with a CBR600F) beginning in '89. Bikes since then are '91 zx-7, '93 zx-7r (the real "r" version), '95 cbr900rr, '98 r1, '02 gix 1k, '03 gix 1k, '04 zx-10r, and current K5. Extensive racing on many tracks in the eastern U.S. with WERA and CCS (putnam park, IRP, grattan, road atlanta (old and new), roebling, jennings, moroso, homestead, among others). I am 6' 1", 210 without gear, in good shape (for the riding impressions later).

Ergonomics. At first blush the two bikes are wildly different in their seating positions. ZX is much more "race oriented" with a tall saddle and low bars. This makes for more discomfort over longer runs, but the tank is very comfortable to lean over (great design) and the seat is nice and wide for good support. K5 seat is a bit too narrow and my inner thighs feel it after more than an hour on the bike. But the upright seating position is great for highway runs. Wind protection is much better on the K5.

I put the two bikes beside one another on similar race stands and the clip-on height of the two (bar touching bar) is about 2" apart. This, combined with the narrower tank, cramped gauge cluster/ram air intake, and closed inner fairing design make the 10 feel like a smaller, lighter, tighter package. However, much of this "feeling" is simply perception. Here's why.

Just rocking the bikes between my legs, the ZX feels substantially lighter than the K5. But the reality is that they are within 5 lbs. of each other. I chalk the difference in feeling up to weight distribution... more on that later.