Suzuki GSX-R Motorcycle Forums Gixxer.com banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hi all,

just purchased my first GSXR600..she's a 97 model..

had her for a week and a bit now and have already racked up 1500k's!!

i'm getting so used to the bike it's great! goin back on 250's make them seem like such a toy...
i got sideways of the green light for the first time aswell...pretty nice feeling...

anyways i'm pretty new to bikes...so have a few questions...to ask about the bike and these forums also...if you would kindly take some time to help me it would be muchly appreciated..looking forward to making this site my homepage for a fair while to come yet!

What is a Gixxer...? i have a fair idea it relates to the GSXR...from browsing through on here...where did the term originate and how?

Also wondering how often do ikes need a rebuild...mine has 50k and i know in terms of bike engines...that is a lot yes? however my bike is really quick...i'm getting used to the power and torque now..but my mate who previously own a 600GSXR says it's not as crisp on the power delivery as it should be...

i use to own a 12second street turbo charged car...but the bike feels so much quicker it's insane..so i ask what is the 1/4mile times like for these bikes in stock form?

i have also lowered the front end by an inch and a half..to accomadate my small size....any thoughts or comments on this handling wise? i was thinking of lowering the rear end too but my mate informs me that a higher rear end makes handlin better anyways..is this true? i don't want to comprimise handling too much as i'm pretty comfortable with the height right now...lower would be better but not essential.....

Also i was thinkin of adding a car cannon style muffler instead of a motorcycle specific one (i would like a yoshi down the track but can't afford one atm)...can this be done? is there a technical difference betwwen the two?? ie back pressure required etc...?