Suzuki GSX-R Motorcycle Forums Gixxer.com banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Am I going to have a hard time removing the carbs from the bike?

I was told I am likely going to have to take them all four off to clean them.

Is there anyplace that sells rebuilt carbs that I could buy and send the old ones back for a core fee?

I am brand new to bikes so I have lots of odd questions.

Thanks

·
Registered
1,578 Posts
Not to be an ass, but shouldn't you be posting this in the Water Cooled Gixxers forum?

·
Registered
553 Posts
Carb cleaning....I don't think this is on anyones list of fun bike things to do..!!

I don't know of any places that offer a core replacement service, it would probably be way too expensive if they did. The best bet is to set some time aside and do the job yourself. A manual will be your best friend here, especially when you delve into the carb internals.

The job is more of a pain than being difficult. You need a firm (but not rough) hand to remove them and put them back again afterwards. As for the carb internals, you just need to be very careful and delicate with the components.

As long as you work in a clean environment and work methodically you will do the job just fine. Take your time and you'll learn a new skill.

Good Luck....

·
Registered
763 Posts
Originally posted by Bold:
Not to be an ass, but shouldn't you be posting this in the Water Cooled Gixxers forum?
<font size="2" face="Verdana, Arial">Bold,

Cut this guy some slack, 1992 GSXR's 750 & 1100 are oil-cooled in the USA....

JDB1371

·
Registered
1,578 Posts
Originally posted by J.D.:
</font><blockquote><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial">quote:</font><hr /><font size="2" face="Verdana, Arial">Originally posted by Bold:
<font size="2" face="Verdana, Arial">Bold,

Cut this guy some slack, 1992 GSXR's 750 & 1100 are oil-cooled in the USA....

JDB1371