Suzuki GSX-R Motorcycle Forums Gixxer.com banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I used to have a 1998 GSXR750 but regretfully sold it.. I just picked up a 99 model with only 13k's on it perfect condition. It has a yoshi rs3 can on it and a K&N air filter.. I am not very good with mechanics and would like to know the first and best way to pick up good power.. are these power commander systems worth a look? the rest of the yoshi system? .... secondly, if done right in a straight line or on paper can I get my 99 750 to go a R1?

·
Premium Member
10,263 Posts
It took a lot of work, but once I hit my power band, te stock R1 will not pull away from me. I have done better times then some R1s at the drags... But it takes A LOT of work... Unless you know how to work on the bike yourself, I wouldnt put that kinda money into the motor.

John

·
Registered
2,358 Posts
A power Commander will allow you to setup your bike a lot better than stock, and whilst it may not give you any extra power, it will make the power you have more useable, it fills the holes in the power curve rather well.

A Full system, and appropriate map will help too.

Changing the gearing will allow you to accelerate faster, at the expense of top speed (who needs 150+mph)

lighter weight chain and sprockets will help too, and "HH" pads will help you stop better.

This will mean you can accelerate faster, and stop better than an average R1.

As far as handling - getting the suspension setup to your weight and style, maybe getting the rear swapped or re-vavled, and replacing those tires with some nice sticky buns and you are all set.

If you do all of that, there are very few R1's that are going to even stay with you, let alone disappear into the distance

·
Registered
76 Posts