Suzuki GSX-R Motorcycle Forums Gixxer.com banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
1,149 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
match-rev...

This may sound crazy. But i've been riding for about 2 years and I never heard of match-rev.
What is it? And how is it done?

·
Banned
15,031 Posts
Re: match-rev...

Do you mean down shifting through blimping the throttle and dropping the clutch for the gear all at the same time? Its just down shifting without having to slowly feed the clutch back in. As you feed the clutch in slowly your allowing the engine to slow and the revs to climb until they match. If u release it and they don't match, you get wheel hop, sliding, false neutral etc....

If you blip the throttle to match your revs up higher for the gear your going down to, then you can shift straight into a gear and not have to feed the bike slowly. And since a bike works best under power and not coasting, it is best to quickly get through a gear, rather than slowly enter it.

·
Registered
1,149 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·

Oh ok. I do that all the time. I just didn't know that was the term. Thanks for the info gimp.

·
Registered
398 Posts

On top end racebikes the slipper-clutch takes care of 80% of all your throttle blipping needs. But from my understanding, any racer worth his salt can downshift through as many gears as he needs, 'matching revs' and letting the clutch out (even slightly) in evry one.

·
Banned
15,031 Posts

yes, they let the clutch out - I do - as do many of my racer friends, slowly.

but with the blip you can kick it in gear quicker and get the clutch out quicker and have less room need to get the revs to match. You never seriously "dump" the clutch. But you've got a lot more enganged then having to just slowly work into it w/o a blip.

·
Registered
398 Posts