Suzuki GSX-R Motorcycle Forums Gixxer.com banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Banned
29,644 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been trying to find out who makes a GOOD, reliable 9mm version of the 1911.

Rock Island Armory makes one, but I don't know anyone who has one, so I can inquire as to it's reliability. Main reason I want a 9mm is cost on ammunition. I can't figure out why .40 cal is SO much more spendy than 9mm, but it is what it is, so I look for a good looking 9mm.

This is the RIA model

anyone know of, or have experience with this brand?

·
Registered
357 Posts
While I have no experience with RIA, I have heard they are really excellent choice for the price. The only problem with 9mm in a 1911 is not enough load in the 9x19 cartridge to properly cycle the slide back into battery.

·
Banned
29,644 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Tell me more? Wouldn't they have made accommodations for that in that caliber?

·
Registered
357 Posts
Don't have first hand experience with that situation, but have heard the same thing more than a few times second hand. I don't know if this will be your first 1911, but the slide is very heavy, and it would only make sense that it would have FTF and FTE issues. Best bet would be trying to find one and try it yourself. Do a lot of research online about the 1911 platform, they're very finicky.

·
Banned
29,644 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
I shot the XD9, didn't like it. I like the reputation of the 1911 design, I just want cheaper ammo. :lol

I already have a Glock23 .40 :D

·
Confuses vag for cock... That would be "cock" as i
2,290 Posts
Many 1911's in 9mm have issues because it's a pistol designed for .45 and converted to 9mm. In the case of the Springfield EMP however, the pistol was designed from the ground up for 9mm. I love mine.

·
Registered
357 Posts
I love the 1911, but personally I think they should be in .45 only. If you want something that is similar to a 1911, but shoots 9mm, check out the Hi-Powers.

·
2,290 Posts