Suzuki GSX-R Motorcycle Forums Gixxer.com banner
1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
1,484 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
There's this guy at my school who has challenged me to a drag race. He has access to a Countach and wants to race me. I've had no dragging experience and I'm on a Gixxer 600 (1998). Now magazine drag times are 11.1 for stock (but i have a D&D slip-on). Who thinks I should race him and what do u think the outcome will be? Peace...

-Will

·
Registered
124 Posts
Thats crazy you posted that cause i saw one on the highways out here in rural missouri. He didnt wanna piece of the gixxer, but i think it could of been a kit car. Anyways if its a COUNTACH and not a DIABLO i would think you could take him. Countachs maybe be a V-12 but they are old from the 80s i believe.
Later,
Bothe

·
Registered
1,484 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Yeah man cause this is the thing i've seen vid's of diablos running quarter miles in the 12's and that would probably mean the countach would do them in the high 12's. For what reason couldn't the Gixxer 600 kick it's ass! (the 1000 would wreck it)...haha

·
Registered
9,334 Posts
well if you've never dragged before (like me) then watch out !! its a WHOLE lot easier to handle a car than a bike...

·
Premium Member
10,263 Posts
Well if you have never done a drag before, then you might want to take a few trial runs.. The launch is the most important part. Or ask him if he is willing to do a rolling start. At like 5 or 10 MPH so you can get on it a bit faster..

John

·
Registered
547 Posts
With a bit of practice you should be ok down the quarter,but don't get suckered into a long race,over 100mph these things will murder most bikes,they might be from the 80's but they do almost 200 mph and get there pretty quickly!

·
Registered
639 Posts