Suzuki GSX-R Motorcycle Forums Gixxer.com banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all. New to the forums here. Recently bought an 07 gsxr 600. I missed riding a lot and ended up buying a lemon :(

Anyways, when I try to start the engine up, the rear servo motor starts to click when I put the engine switch on. Then when I go to start the engine, nothing happens. I probably have to replace the servo motor too, but do you guys think it's the starter? I'm a total newb to fixing my own bike. I don't think it's the battery because all the lights work and fuel pump starts up and servo motor starts (even though it sounds bad). Really need some advice. Please help!

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
I do have the FI light too...and non OEM levers...you think a good start would be to replace the SET and the two switches?

·
You should listen to me. No, seriously, listen to
7,701 Posts
What's the "rear servo motor"? Download a copy of the service manual and go to the LOCATION OF ELECTRICAL COMPONENTS pages, maybe around 9-6, to identify the part. A multimeter and the STARTER SYSTEM AND SIDE-STAND/IGNITION INTERLOCK SYSTEM diagram, maybe on 9-12, ought to allow you to narrow things down quite a bit.

·
Registered
10 Posts
Near the battery under the seat but closer to the rear cowl, there's a relay you can slide off or just hold your hand on it. See if you can feel it clicking when you hit the start switch.

·
Registered
10 Posts
Also you should be able to bypass all the safety sensors by jumping the two terminals on that relay if it works anything like a car. That will help rule out a thing or two.

·
7,701 Posts
That's the starter solenoid and is an important point for multimeter measurements. Don't be bypassing it, whatever that means.

I'm worried that you're over your head.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #9