Suzuki GSX-R Motorcycle Forums Gixxer.com banner
1 - 20 of 45 Posts

·
Registered
155 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Went out earlier today and practiced some wheelies on my k5. Here's what I observed...

In 1st gear, any rpm and it shoots for the sky, I can get it to come up at 3000 rpm even.
2nd gear, I have to bounc it pretty damn hard, sometimes twice to get it to come up. Gotta work on my technique a little and should be a lot more consistant.
3rd gear... Im-freaking-possible without major clutching (I suck at clutching). I couldn't get it to come up no matter what.

I'm pretty new to wheelies. I thought with liter bikes it would be a lot easier?

Any advice? I noticed that I would stiffen up pretty hard when the front starts comming up. Would that have any effect?

I read all the articles, but they just discount my findings and say I should be able to power up 2nd no problem. Is there something I could do with this particular bike to make it easier?

·
Registered
520 Posts
thats BS we were doing roll ons on the highway between a BUS and a 05 1k, the guy on the 1k was doing everything he could to keep the frount end down with only power in 3rd gear at like 70.

·
Registered
886 Posts
thats BS we were doing roll ons on the highway between a BUS and a 05 1k, the guy on the 1k was doing everything he could to keep the frount end down with only power in 3rd gear at like 70.
Have you ever thought of the riders weight?

Maybe that guy ^^^ is a fat ass.

Either way. In 2nd gear this thing comes up like nothing for me... ( im 180lbs)

·
Registered
2,079 Posts
Yeah my 03 will throttle up easily in 2nd, 05s have more power and are a tad lighter, should come up even easier. (haven't ridden one myself yet so can't really say for sure)