Suzuki GSX-R Motorcycle Forums Gixxer.com banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
541 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hope this is in right area,

ok i'm about to put on some woodcraft cases (stator, idler, crank case cover ).. my question is this. i still need to change my oil anyway so would it be ok to drain it and leave empty for alittle while( and the reasons why or why not it may or may not be a good idea). the bike currently sits in my house in a 70 degree tempertaure controlled climate and obviously would not be started or even moved until oil was filled back to spec. i just haven't been able to make it to my local shop yet and at the moment transportation is an issue..it would only be for like a week or so until i can get out there.

might be a stupid question on my part. i'm still new to the whole wrenching on my own bike thing. i was always lazy and brought my other bikes to the stealership when money wasnt as tight, but now that we own a house i'm trying to save money in any areas that i can. Any insight would be appreciated.

·
Constantly in trouble now
16,403 Posts
You can't really leave it with "no" oil. It always keeps plenty of oil adhered to the metal of the engine. Just don't leave openings uncapped.

--Wag--

·
Registered
541 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
You can't really leave it with "no" oil. It always keeps plenty of oil adhered to the metal of the engine. Just don't leave openings uncapped.

--Wag--
Thanks for the response wag.. i kinda had a feeling that it wasn't a good idea but wouldn't leave it dry.. i do have a quart in the shed unopened of the same stuff im gonna use that i could put in but i guess it would be best to just wait and get it all done at once..
:cheers

·
16,403 Posts
I wasn't clear. What I meant was, you can completely drain it and oil will still adhere to the metal surfaces.