Suzuki GSX-R Motorcycle Forums Gixxer.com banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
138 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have never done this before and would appreciate all the help I can get. I need direction as how to jet my carbs. I have the carb assembly off the bike already. I need to know the settings for this particular set up. 96 750 w/ bolt on vance&hines ss2r and a k&n air filter. 3 degree timing advancer will be added next winter. Also to remove the gas tank the tail section must come off right? is it just the two bolts on the tail that hold it on?

Ryan

·
Registered
1,284 Posts
Carbs are a mysterious thing.. lol.. not really - there's an FAQ on this site, and you can check out http://www.factorypro.com/tech/carbtun.html for some good general tuning information. You can order DynoJet main jets for like 2 bucks a piece if you need new ones. I don't know what I'd do for your setup in particular, so sorry.

Oh and as far as the tank, the tail section on the SRAD's is held on by 2 bolts on the sides, another 2 big ole screws under the seat/cowling, and there are rubber grommets that these plugs in them fit into, so you have to take the seat off, and take the screws out that hold the 2 halves together toward the front of the bike, then just pull gently and they should pop out. Keep in mind that the rear of the bike is still held together with screws so don't pull it off forcefully or you'll break the mounts

good luck!

- G

·
Registered
788 Posts
You didn't mention you purchased a jet kit in your post. I would strongly recomend doing that, they are not expensive and save near infinite time and hassel in getting real performance improvements. Factory has a good telephone response also if you get theirs. BTW I don't hear good things about the power that V&H pipes/slipons provide.

Some general info would be (others probably have better guesses with no jet kit):

1-drill out the plugs (tricky) over the air screws and try 3.5 turns out from gently bottomed