Suzuki GSX-R Motorcycle Forums Gixxer.com banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Do these old GSXR's have the cheapest, flimsiest, most annoying and inconsistent axle blocks on the planet??? I'm an ex Yamaha master tech, and have worked on pretty much every Jap bike, dirt bike, ATV, European BS, even worked for Harley for a while. And NEVER have I encountered such fussy chain adjusters. Mine appear to be in mint condition, as is the swingarm and axle. Everything moves smoothly, and axle nut torqued properly. Even re-snug the grub nuts after axle torque for good luck.

Chain adjustment becomes anyone's guess the moment you tighten that axle. I end up experimenting around with it for a good 3-4 tries, usually having to set the sides unevenly so it ends up cinching itself straight after axle torque, then snugging up the loose grub nut. THEN, upon return from the test ride- the chain may be loose, tight, or just right. Your guess is as good as mine. Am I retarded or are these adjusters bullshit? I have NEVER had issues with chain adjusters on literally anything (except quads) until now. I'm doing all of this on a Pitbull spool stand, btw.

Does anyone (Yosh? LightTech?) make aftermarket adjusters for these bikes? I personally wasn't able to find any. I'm actually considering having my machinist engineer some kind of solution, but unfortunately it looks like the way these swingarm lugs are, it would probably require welding on a boss for a different style grub screw (new design would be more conventional- eliminating rearward facing studs and cheapo bent steel pieces).

I have literally no idea how rampant this issue is, but if it seems to be common I may get a decent size batch made. Just testing the waters.

PS: Are all 600W, 750W, 1100W rear adjusters the same? I cant remember... And slabsides use a smaller axle, right?

·
Juvenile Thinker
292 Posts