Suzuki GSX-R Motorcycle Forums Gixxer.com banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
489 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey all, what a bad start to the riding season. went down today, i will be ok, but the bike is not as good. 50 mph low side into a ditch. so the damage is what you would expect, all plastics cracked and/or scratched, bye bye turn signals and mirrors. i put it in the garage so i dont know what else. i rode it home. anyway.........

it was my fault, too fast in a corner. i cant afford to fix all the damage. is this something that insurance covers. i have full collision insurance. no one else involved. can anyone give me any insight on how to progress, what to expect etc. im debating making this a track bike, not sure if i want to restore it to stock setup or track setup. anyway, your help and insight would be appreciated since i have no experience going down before.

·
Registered
164 Posts
Not sure what its like down where you are but usually insurance companies need a police report of the accident. Police need to investigate the scene, determine the cause and make a report that the insurance company uses in your claim.

You obviously don't have that, so I guess you would have to call the insurance company and see what they say.

·
Registered
489 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
makes since, but i didnt wanna call the police. a) i was out in the middle of nowhere without a phone, and b) i feared i would also get a ticket for unsafe driving or some such crap ontop of an already bad day.

·
Banned
15,031 Posts