Suzuki GSX-R Motorcycle Forums Gixxer.com banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Premium Member
352 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hey everyone, I just finished changing out the oil/dust seals on my 99 750 and I though some other people might like to see some pics to hopefully help other people who tackle this job.

First I want to give credit to GSXR-Freak for writing a how to. I found that thread and also a post he made with some various tips and they really helped me out. Thanks for that, glad it's still around. Here are the links to the posts I'm talking about:
How to: http://www.gixxer.com/forums/showpost.php?p=42293&postcount=3
Tips: http://www.gixxer.com/forums/showpost.php?p=3419981&postcount=13

I really didn't know what I was in for since I've never worked on suspension before but it wasn't too bad really. The 2nd fork went smoother than the 1st. I do see the need to have a friend or a special tool to compress the spring as it was the hardest part so I would recommend that to anyone who does this. Anyway, on to the pics...

Front wheel removed, calipers secured.

Forks removed from the bike

Ready to open

Finish unscrewing the fork cap.

Eventually the outer tube will disconnect from the cap and you can pull it down.

Next remove the small clip on top of the preloader.

Now you can remove the preload adjuster.

Get your 17mm wrench onto the damping rod by compressing the spring.

Remove the fork cap.

You can now remove the spacer and washers. The three legged piece in this picture actually goes in the fork cap, I set it down in the wrong spot.

·
Premium Member
352 Posts
Discussion Starter #2 (Edited)
Remove the spring

Drain the oil. Be sure to pump the damper rod to get all the old oil out.
Once the oil is drained place the fork on it's side and pry off the dust seal.

Now you need to remove this clip inside the fork leg

Once the clip is removed pull the two fork legs apart