Suzuki GSX-R Motorcycle Forums Gixxer.com banner

1 - 20 of 617 Posts

·
Just call me "nubs"
575 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
*****LEAVE NOW IF YOU WILL BE OFFENDED BY GRAPHIC PICS*****

I will start off by saying that I am a worthless squid rookie and I suck at everything in life.
I was about to go for a ride today and my chain was pretty nasty, so I put it up on the stands and got out the wd-40 and a rag. I started the bike, put it in gear and let it idle. I sprayed the chain down really well and I put the rag up to it and it got caught and took my hand with it through the rear sprocket. I had to have everything above my last joint amputated on my index, pointer and my ring finger on my right hand. Thankfully I am left handed. It was a stupid mistake on my part and now I will forever pay the price for it. Say what you will, flame away, I don't care. I have accepted it and I take full responsibility. I made a choice (not knowing any better) and I will live with the consequences for the rest of my life. I thought I would post this so that 1.) no one else ever makes this mistake and 2.) To show that you don't have to be riding for a bike to get you hurt.

·
I Heart Man Sauce
6,488 Posts
Dude, I am really sorry to see that. I'm just sitting here thinking how easily avoidable that would be if you had someone with some experience helping you out.

I don't even know what to say, I'm sorry you had to learn that lesson the real hard way. Most of us have done things far dumber and came out of it intact and wiser. I truly wish you the best, you probably feel pretty low right now.

Read up on Tony Iommi on wiki and it may cheer you up a bit.

·
Just call me "nubs"
575 Posts
Discussion Starter #6