Suzuki GSX-R Motorcycle Forums Gixxer.com banner

1 - 20 of 47 Posts

·
Registered
816 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
It almost seems like more 1k riders go down then any other cc bike that I see on the road right now. Hell all you have to do is read these forums and that is evident. And it also seems evident that the crashes are very much avoidable, yet they happen all too often.

When I worked at a motorcycle shop, I constantly had guys come in and buy 1k's, and then come back a couple weeks later, sometimes a couple months later, with a totaled bike. I work in insurance now....and see it still. Guys added MC's to their policies, and then crashed them soon thereafter, subsequently calling in their claim.

The stories are the same at the shop....wheelie this, endo that, racing this, weaving that. At the insurance company it was always cars, gravel, or something else outside their control.

It occured to me that these guys simply don't know how to ride well enough, mentally and/or physically to own a 1k, and sometimes a bike in general. They think they know how to ride because they can crank the throttle and go fast. But do they ever practice hard stopping from 100 mph where they usually ride at? Do they have a smooth hand or a choppy one? Do they turn with only one input or three? Do they still get chills and ride over their heads on unfamiliar roads?

Riding a bike in general is equated with the skills of a jet pilot, the same thought process is there, and amount of decisions one has to make are done in milliseconds rather then seconds or minutes for some car drivers. Couple this with a 1k's added power and its demand for a smoother and more mature hand....and then ask yourself this question....

Do you feel that you should be riding a 1k? Do you feel that most others should be on 1k's?

Just some food for thought.

·
Chubby Chaser
57,844 Posts
That has more to do with the rider than the "1K".

·
Registered
87 Posts
good points

i am no motogp racer by any stretch