Suzuki GSX-R Motorcycle Forums Gixxer.com banner

1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Registered
2016 Suzuki GSXR 750
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I did my first track day a few weeks ago. I now realize I am going to be purchasing more tires than normal as we already have two more track days slated for early June.

I'm curious, how many of you change your own tires? I have NO experience doing it, but would love to learn and save myself a good bit of $$$ when it's time to change out the tires.

·
Registered
155 Posts
Hi lowsparkchris,
I change my own tires. I ride a lot, and have to change 2 or 3 tires a month in the riding season.
The local dealer charged $53.00 with me taking the tire off. I bought a tire charger about 2 years ago, and I think I have saved enough to pay for it I think?
And no one could balance the tire good enough. I have ceramic wheel bearings, (they make the wheel spin very freely)and when I bring it home and check the balance, it was always off.
I balance them by putting the axle in the wheel and put it on the Jack stands. I find the heavy spot, and add wight until it doesn't have a heavy spot. (And with the ceramic bearings, it is very sensitive) then put some balancing beads in it.
The most well balanced tires ever,
45 mph, 75 mph, or 140 mph still smooth!!!

·
Registered
63 Posts
Hi lowsparkchris,
I change my own tires. I ride a lot, and have to change 2 or 3 tires a month in the riding season.
2-3 tires per month! Wow!

I take my wheels off and found a shop that does labor for $15 per wheel.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
155 Posts
Yep, I go through a lot of tires.
Me and my girlfriend have 2 bikes.
(I do all the driving) I have a 05gsx1000 with 154,000 and hers is a 99cbr900rr it has around 77,000.
It is hard to keep good tires on both!!!
I have 4 rear tires and 2 front tires here now. I always keep extra tires, sometimes a old custom needs one.
Have a good one 🏍🏍🏍

·
Premium Member
875 Posts