Suzuki GSX-R Motorcycle Forums Gixxer.com banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm not a mechanic but I can do things like change my own oil, spark plugs, brake pads, and so on. I recently noticed my brakes were not biting as much as they use to. I have a 2006 GSXR 750 with a Brembo RCS 19 MC with Galfer SS lines and stock calipers. I watched a couple of YouTube vids on how to clean your calipers before I attempted it and when I took them off, I noticed that on both sides there were pistons that were not fully engaging. So I watched a couple of more videos on how to rebuild your calipers and even wrote down step by step so I wouldn't screw it up. After not being able to fix the first caliper (the larger piston would freeze inside and not come out) I ordered another used one. I went to rebuild that one and the same F'ing thing happened again. The larger pistons would freeze inside the caliper even though I made sure to coat the piston and the inside, including the seals thoroughly with brake fluid. I've given up trying to fix these things and now am looking at buying calipers. At first, I was just going to buy Brembo M4s but after doing a little research I found that a lot of people have had success with R6 calipers. My question is, what year R6 calipers are we talking about? Also, would I need new mounting bolts and banjo bolts? What about spacers? If somebody could please help me it would be greatly appreciated. If I had any hair I'd have pulled all of it out by now out of frustration, lol. Thank you in advance.

·
That’s Mister Moderator To You ....
7,951 Posts
Or you could sort-out why you're not having any luck simply rebuilding the current ones? Unless you have lots of money to throw at it, then have at it.

Wish I could help but I've never had sticky pistons. You'll get advice on either direction before long.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #3