Suzuki GSX-R Motorcycle Forums Gixxer.com banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all, I am from India, and own a gixxer 155.

I need help regarding two issues which i am considering to change in my bike.

1. I wish to increase the handle height as well as need to bring it closer to me while riding. I have been doing long trips on it, and it has started hurting my shoulders. I know you will say to go buy a cruiser, but thats not possible for me. So please help with this if it is possible

2. I am also trying to reduce the weight of the bike (which is 135 kg), the best way i thought would be to get lighter tyres. So my doubt is, if could go for thinner ones like 90mm in front and 120mm rear, and probably mount 21 inch tyre in front(which is currently 17), would it be possible?

I am a beginner and a noob, so please be kind on me :)0:):nerd:

·
Registered
1,111 Posts

1. I wish to increase the handle height as well as need to bring it closer to me while riding. I have been doing long trips on it, and it has started hurting my shoulders. I know you will say to go buy a cruiser, but thats not possible for me. So please help with this if it is possible

2. I am also trying to reduce the weight of the bike (which is 135 kg), the best way i thought would be to get lighter tyres. So my doubt is, if could go for thinner ones like 90mm in front and 120mm rear, and probably mount 21 inch tyre in front(which is currently 17), would it be possible?

I have heard of people raising their bars, I don't know the technical details. Would shaving down the seat also have the desired effect or is it more distance from you rather than height?

How much difference in weight do the tyres make, is it really much? What about the exhaust, could you change it for a carbon fibre muffler?

I don't know how much you weigh but you might be able to lose 5kg from your own body (either weight or clothing or a combination of the above)?

·