Suzuki GSX-R Motorcycle Forums Gixxer.com banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
176 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I was doing a quick valve job on my motor and noticed one of the valve cover bolts is a little loose ... not quite stripped, but close.

Anyone ever heli-coil the cam caps? Any suggestions? The bolts seem to be 7 mm (definitely are not 6 or 8 mms).

If I understand the heli-coil situation properly, you drill the hole out with a one-size larger bit (8 mm), tap the hole with an 8 mm tap, screw in the insert with red locktite, and voila! Right? Or wrong? I've never done this before (I'm usually a stickler for using the proper torque values.)

·
Registered
219 Posts
That sounds about right, though I've never done it for that exact application, the little packet of heli-coils will/should have recommended drill/tap sizes and bits of how-to.

·
Registered
219 Posts
And, I think you can get a the same or even higher torque value, upto a degree, with a heli-coil because there is more area being grabbed.

·
YAAFM Mod
3,016 Posts
A buddy just had the same problem with his Katuna last year had two cam caps strip out..then had the heli-coils pullout. Lots of bad luck. He should have called me first. APE has oversized hold down bolts(8mm)cheap. Just make sure that if you use heli-coils or retap to 8mm that the holes are centered on the orginals.
Bones

http://www.aperaceparts.com/

·
3,476 Posts
And, I think you can get a the same or even higher torque value, upto a degree, with a heli-coil because there is more area being grabbed.
<font size="2" face="Verdana, Arial">I'm still thinking of doing the Heli-Coil repair of my drainplug hole. I don't understand how more area is grabbed, but I've been told that a heli-Coil *is* stronger than a tapped aluminum hole. Aluminum race car engines are supposedly intentionally Heli-Coiled for this reason. Has anyone else heard of this?

·
Registered
17,099 Posts