Suzuki GSX-R Motorcycle Forums Gixxer.com banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, so I feel like a total noob but I need help so here goes...

I dropped my 98 gsxr 750 and the only damage it sustained was a massive dent in the gas tank. I found a brand new tank for the same make and model as mine. I also ordered a new fuel pump gasket.

I disconnected all the hoses, removed the hinge and took the tank off the bike. I then removed the fuel pump gasket off the bottom and reassembled it with the new gasket on the bottom. I reconnected all the hoses and wires and mounted the new gas tank on the bike.

I started it up and gas started spraying out of the tube on the left side on the bottom of the tank. I found a rubber nipple that fit it and I put it on the tube. I started the bike again and this time gas came out the top gasket by the cupful.

What on earth is going on? I triple checked what I did and all of the hoses and wires are connected in the exact way and manner they were on the old tank. What do I do?

·
Premium Member
10,263 Posts
Either the hoses are connected wrong or there is something wrong with the inside of that tank.

Where are the hoses going that you have connected to the back of the tank?

John

·
Premium Member
10,263 Posts
I am thinking the same thing SRADIATOR. :)

John

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #9
The tank is OEM brand new, I can't imagine the tank is the problem, it has to be my error, but I reassembled the tank in the identical configuration as my previous tank.

My thoughts, from my limited research, are that maybe my pump lost prime and once reset backflows pressure into the tank? Something is obviously forcing gas backwards into the tank, yet gas is still getting into the engine enough to run.