Suzuki GSX-R Motorcycle Forums Gixxer.com banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So this may sound like a dumb question but i am concerned. So i was told when i first purchased my bike 93 only!! But this afternoon i went to the gas station and at this moment i can say i completely forgot what octane i used and i am afraid it was 83!?!? is there anything i should do this is my first time putting something other than 93.

·
Premium Member
18,076 Posts
So this may sound like a dumb question but i am concerned. So i was told when i first purchased my bike 93 only!! But this afternoon i went to the gas station and at this moment i can say i completely forgot what octane i used and i am afraid it was 83!?!? is there anything i should do this is my first time putting something other than 93.
:wtf your owners manual should state 87 or 89 only. i know 05s take 87. using a higher octane is not recomended not advised unless stated by the OEM. I dont think any of the zukis call for 93 unless its maybe a 1k?:dunno

and where the hell do they sell 83?:scratch

·
Premium Member
117,182 Posts
I cant say I have ever seen 83 in florida :blink

87 is fine. That is what the bike is made for. Anything more is a waste, and might make less power anyway.

The only places I have ever seen 83 is in higher elevation areas IIRC. Like Denver maybe, Montana somewhere I think, maybe North Dakota etc.

·
I move away from the mic
6,548 Posts
There is a misconception in the street-racing world that high octane fuel will make your car go faster or run better. This is simply not true. The octane rating essentially rates the fuel’s resistance to knocking.

Knocking or pinging is a sound that an engine makes when the air-fuel mixture in the combustion chambers ignites too early.

The octane level required by an engine is determined by its compression ratio: higher-compression engines require higher-octane fuel.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #5