Suzuki GSX-R Motorcycle Forums Gixxer.com banner
1 - 20 of 32 Posts

· Registered
78 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
friend wants to upgrade to the \'05 1k

My friend's been riding bit over 1yr on his gsxr600, he can handle the bike well. he wants to upgrade to the 1k...what are your inputs? he loves my bike he really wants to pull the trigger on it....what do you guys think?

btw...he has an '04 600

· Registered
61 Posts
Re: friend wants to upgrade to the \'05 1k

I've been riding motorcycles for over 15 years now, and in my opinion it's not a good idea at all, the K5 is way too much bike for someone with that little experience.

· Chubby Chaser
57,033 Posts

1 year of riding and he wants to hop on a K5? probably a bad idea. I too have been riding for just a shade over 15 years and this bike requires some skill to handle.

· Registered
75 Posts

i sold one of my good friends my 600 when i went to the 1k
he rode it for 6 months in FL about 5x a week and put a ton of miles on it

he upgraded to the 1k, got in a bad situation and his lack of experience got him killed

RIP Paco

· Registered
215 Posts

hmm
i personally know 7 dudes who have died on the K5 within a 2 month period.
ironically 2 came off zx636 1 gsxr 750 (04) the rest gsxr 600's.
HINT...way out of his league. Have him hold on to his 6 for 1 more year.
Then upgrade to the new GSXR 750 thats comming out next year. Most likely that will be more than enough bike for him to flick around indefinitely.

· Registered
116 Posts

the problem comes from everyone wanting a 1K just to say, "I ride a 1000".

if you spend at least a year on a 600, then a year on a 750, then really respect the 1K for the first year (and keeep that repsect once you start using it hard), you'll be fine. its an EGO thing, 6 month riders wanting a 1K just to say that's what they ride! in any case, please ride safe and respect your bike!!!

I once heard a saying, "A 600 can kill you, A 1000 WANTS to kill you"

· Registered
30 Posts