Suzuki GSX-R Motorcycle Forums Gixxer.com banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Howdy! Im new to Motorcycles,
but i just bought (a month ago) an EX250. I totally enjoy it, but am quickly becoming aware of the lack of straight forward acceleration. i do not plan on getting a bigger bike till next year, though. So what im getting at, would it be a suitable jump in power to go from a ex250 to a gixxer? I know a gixxer is much faster, but i DO NOT want to get stuck somewhere in between.

Also, im about 6 ft 220 lbs. The ex250 is a little small, but nothing bad. I cant say im uncomfortable, but i look big on it
How are gixxer ergos for people my size, and are longer rides out of the question?

Also is a dumb idea to get a new bike? My next bike i want to be a bike that i will have for a long time, not just a couple of years, so i want to make sure it gets the proper care from day one. The initial loss in value is quite a hit though

I have wanted a gixxer since before i have wanted a bike(if that makes sense), but i value my life, and body more than the thrill, and style associated with a gixxer. Thanks to anyone who can answer any of my questions

·
Bearded Viking Admin...
131,133 Posts
You're really off for a good start
If you get really good on the 250, I wouldn't say jumping to a GSX-R600 would pose any problems.

About comfort, I'm about your size and my 600 would feel too small if I was much bigger (750s and 1000s too, same ergonomics). My SV is more comfortable for long rides, though.

·
Registered
5,694 Posts
Welcome to GDC... A big +1 to everything above. just do make sure you get plenty of time in on that 250... You'll probably discover before long that once you learn how to ride it a little better you'll be absolutely AMAZED at just how much acceleration it has... A huge part of speed is all in the rider... In fact, a HUGE part of riding in general is ALL in the rider!